Prawn Gulai

Buy the biggest sea tiger prawns from the market.

Prawns are a must on the Chinese New Year table because its name in Cantonese, ha, is the sound of laughter. It’s probably just an excuse to indulge in the biggest prawns we can afford, and the fishmongers are probably the ones laughing the loudest and longest.

In Penang, I hardly cook. I am all too happy to be pampered, and I have a long list of favourite dishes for my mom to churn out. In my in-laws’ home, I go in anticipation of braised pigs’ trotters in soy sauce and chestnut, or with old ginger and black vinegar.

But somehow, I am now entrusted with cooking the prawn curry for Chinese New Year and Christmas. My mother-in-law e-mailed me the recipe and I tried it out, and next thing I knew it’d become a family favourite. And since this prawn curry has graced our festive table for almost ten years now, I am declaring it a family tradition.

(Clockwise, from left) Kaffir lime leaves, galangal, lemomgrass and tumeric

My prawn curry is typically Peranakan – the main ingredients are shallots, turmeric, galangal, chilli, lemongrass and candlenuts. It’s fragranced with kaffir lime leaves, and the gravy’s base is tamarind.

But the star ingredient is of course the prawns. This curry works best with big gigantic prawns; they must be crowned with heads choke full of roe (and cholesterol). They impart their distinct deep briny sweetness to the curry that no stock cube or MSG can come close to replicating.

Don’t buy commercially-bred prawns. Get tiger prawns caught at sea. You don’t usually find the huge ones in the market because they are usually distributed to restaurants. But in the month leading to Chinese New Year, they will be available – and of course, they cost a bomb.

The tiger prawns we had this year were huge – they were about nine-inches long, and we only got eight for a kg. But they were also exceptionally good, with firm and sweet flesh and the best prawn heads ever (sucking on the prawn heads is the best part, so don’t bother being dainty and health-conscious).

Prawn Gulai makes for a happy meal, and hopefully a happy tiger year

Below is the recipe that my mother-in-law gave me, and which I followed faithfully the first time. But because this curry is all about the sour-sweet-salty balance, you have to experiment and improvise as you go along.

Sometimes the dried chillies are hot, sometimes milder. Sometimes a small knob of tamarind goes a long way, sometimes not. Sometimes, the sweetness of the prawns does its magic, sometimes not…you get the idea.

I am a lot more relaxed when I cook this dish now, but I used to be so anxious because the prawns were so costly. But I have also realised that I cannot taste the flavours if I keep testing and testing it… so I just wait till almost the end to check the flavours, and add whatever I think it needs (yeah, I pretend like I know what I am doing).
A hint: salt and sugar are important seasonings.

But I must also say this is a dish worth getting right because it’s absolutely delicious – the heady sweetness of prawns combined with all that aromatic ingredients make for a gutsy full-on feast.

Kaffir lime leaves lend their distinct fragrance to this curry

RECIPE

PRAWN GULAI
(Female Cookbook 1980)
the notes in italic are mine

Ingredients

8-10 prawns, about 1kg
1/2 cup vegetable oil, you need lots of oil to fry the pounded ingredients until it’s aromatic, absolutely no shortcuts

Pound finely (or blend) :

12 dried chillies, adjust according to yr taste
12 shallots
6 slices galangal
3cm piece fresh turmeric
1 tsp belacan
4-6 candlenuts, or macadamia nuts, or leave out

2-3 stalks lemongrass, bruised
4 kaffir lime leaves
1 1/2 cup of tamarind juice (mix 1 1/2 cup of water with 1 tablespoon of tamarind)
salt and sugar, to taste. Sometimes, you need 2-3 tablespoon of sugar, but it depends on your taste

Cut off the prawns’ whiskers, but do not shell.

Heat oil, and fry pounded ingredients until fragrant and oil shows in bubbles through ingredients. (tumis until naik minyak – which means you must keep the flame low, and patiently stir the rempah until the oil separates and rises to the top. It’ll also be very fragrant, and if the chilli is hot someone will start coughing)

Add tamarind juice, bruised lemon grass, kaffir lime leaves, and season with salt and sugar.

Add prawns, and continue simmering for about 20 minutes uncovered.

I swear I don’t mean to confuse you, but I fry the prawns over high heat with the spice mixture until fragrant. Then, I add the tamarind juice. I also add three tomatoes.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE:

Kiam Cai Boi

Lor Bak

Kerabu Timun

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Prawn Gulai”

  1. Angie@Angie's Recipes Says:

    wow Look at these giant prawns! How mouthwatering!

  2. zurin Says:

    this looks absolutely gorgeous…..very mouthwatering..tq for dropping by ^.^

  3. Marty Says:

    How come you make dishes like this one only when you’re in Penang?

  4. Petite Nyonya Says:

    hi hungryc, thank you very much for visiting my blog & leaving your comments…am so glad you did because it led me to yours! i really like your blog posts and the recipes here! this gulai looks like a MUST try recipe. there’s a similar nyonya version which uses ‘santan’ and pineapple, which is on my blog as well…previous few posts. i love the use of tamarind juice in dishes (typical nyonya taste bud) so i am sure i will enjoy this gulai!

  5. terri Says:

    thanks for dropping by my blog. i love your blog immediately, the food, the beautiful photos (don’t tell me it’s canon again :() and your passion about food. thumbs up!

  6. Hungry Caterpillar Says:

    Thanks Terri for yr kind words. I have only just started blogging, was resistant for the longest time but am enjoying it so much.
    We used to make this curry with frozen gigantic prawns from Sabah, but unfortunately have not made any trips there lately.
    And yes, I use an ancient Canon 350D

  7. pigpigscorner Says:

    woah I love the flavours here – spicy, sour…yum!

  8. Lor Bak at Kheng Pin « The Hungry Caterpillar Says:

    […] Prawn Gulai […]

  9. What the World Eats : Indonesia | potsoup Says:

    […] Prawn Gulai : Gulai is a type of food containing rich, spicy and succulent curry-like sauce commonly found in Indonesia and Malaysia. The main ingredients might be poultry, beef, mutton, various kinds of offals, fish and seafoods, and also vegetables such as cassava leafs and unripe jackfruit. The gulai sauces commonly have a thick consistency with yellowish color because of the addition of ground turmeric. Source – HungryC […]

Leave a Reply

