Chicken Stew for Rainy Days

Photobucket

It was raining cats and dogs last Saturday evening, and the last thing I wanted to do was go out…even to feed a hungry child. So, there was no choice but to cook. And I had three chicken legs, some potatoes and carrots. I am bored of A-B-C soup, so I decided to make chicken stew.

This was my mother-in-law’s recipe. I actually can’t remember the recipe anymore, but the basic instructions were to brown the chicken, and then cook it slowly with the potatoes and carrots.

It’s actually real easy, except for browning the chicken. Browning the chicken is easy enough too, but the floors get greasy and that involves mopping (which is what I hate to do the most!).

So, of course, I have tried cooking the stew without browning the chicken. But it just doesn’t taste so good. So, now I brown the chicken.

Last Saturday, I was lazy, so I cut the chicken into big pieces – less to brown. Not such a great idea – the stew is nicer with smaller pieces of chicken.

I used light soya sauce because I don’t have worcertershire sauce (Lea and Perrins), and it worked just as well.

Don’t leave out the cinnamon and star anise though; it gives the stew a nice aroma.

You can also use different types of vegetables like leeks, and a tomato or two. I like cabbage in the stew, but no one else in my family does. So, I sometimes add some cabbage leaves in the leftovers and cook them until they are all wilted.

Everyone else eat their stew with bread. I like mine with rice, and with sambal belacan.

CHICKEN STEW
(for two)

chicken stew

Ingredients

4 chicken legs. cut in 6 pieces
1 tablespoon of light soya sauce
1 teaspoon of ground white pepper
1/2 tablespoon of flour
1/2 cup of cooking oil
2 star anise
1 inch of cinnamon stick
2 big onions, cut into wedges
2-3 potatoes, peeled and halved
1-2 carrots, peeled and cut in medium chunks
1 tablespoon of tomato sauce
1 cube of chicken stock
1 1/2 cups of water
salt, to taste

Marinate chicken with the light soya sauce, ground white pepper and flour for about 15 minutes.

Heat the cooking oil, and then brown the chicken. Set aside.

Heat a tablespoon of the cooking oil, and add the cinnamon stick and star anise. When they are aromatic, add the onion wedges.

Then, add the potatoes and carrots, and chicken.

Add the tomato sauce and chicken stock cube.

Add the water, and let the stew simmer over low heat until the potatoes and carrot are soft. It should take about 30minutes.

Just before removing from the heat, taste it and season with salt. If you think the stew is too watery, add half a tablespoon of flour (diluted with 2 tablespoons of water).

Tags:

4 Responses to “Chicken Stew for Rainy Days”

  1. sandra Says:

    out of curiosity, what bread do you eat? 🙂

    • Hungry Caterpillar Says:

      I eat roti jala, roti canai, roti capati, roti telur…. I just don’t like white sliced bread bec they are so dry. But if you bake bread and give me, I’ll love them….esp w olive oil and balsamic vinegar, or butter and vegemite

  2. Mag Lee Says:

    hi, what do u mean by brown the chicken?

    • Hungry Caterpillar Says:

      To brown the chicken, just heat up the oil over medium flame. Fry the chicken until they are browned but not cooked. Turn when one side browns, and remove when both sides are brown.

Leave a Reply

