Home Fares – Potatoes and Chicken

potatoes and chicken

I didn’t grow up with French fries, mashed potatoes, potato salad or baked potatoes. The only potatoes I knew were those in curry chicken laden with coconut milk, or fried potato wedges to go with pork chop, or with meatballs.

But my favourite potato dish was a simple one – thick slices of potato with pork. It was the most nondescript and comforting dish, and I probably took it for granted for years.

I didn’t even bother to learn how to make it until my aunt taught me how to cook it because my daughter loves it (and we know who is the BOSS).

We substitute the pork with chicken now, and it is an easy dish to make. Still, I made a mess of it the first time because I didn’t know how much soya sauce to put in, and threw in way too much. Even with all the gravy, you actually only need about 1 tablespoon of light soya sauce… I actually stood and watched my aunt make the dish before I got the seasoning right.

Anyway, this is a good dish to serve to children, and easy enough to make… and easier to eat.

potato and chicken

POTATOES AND CHICKEN

1 tablespoon of cooking oil

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 chicken thigh, deboned and cut into 4-5 pieces

4-5 potatoes, peeled and sliced thickly

1 tablespoon of light soy sauce, or to taste

2-3 shakes of ground white pepper

a pinch of sugar

1 cup of water

Heat cooking oil, and saute garlic.

Throw in the chicken over high heat, and stir for a minute or two.

Then, add potatoes and stir.

Add seasoning, and stir.

Add water, and bring to a slow boil.

Then, lower the heat to low and let it cook slowly covered.

It’ll take between 15-20  minutes for the potatoes to soften (but not crumble). By then, the gravy would have thickened.

If you like more gravy, add more water and adjust the seasoning.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Home Fares – Potatoes and Chicken”

  1. Niki Cheong Says:

    This is one of my favourite dishes, ever! 🙂

    *hint*hint*

  2. nyonyachef Says:

    This is a delicious home cook food ! I used to eat this very often when I was young.

  3. boo_licious Says:

    Comfort food! Am glad it passes the little boss’ approval!

  4. Jason Says:

    Mine too! 😀

Leave a Reply

