More Quiche (despite burnt onions)

quiche

I behaved properly and didn’t deface the two quiches I contributed to my daughter’s school do for a taste check. I made spinach and tomato quiche, and bacon and mushroom quiche for that occasion. Of course, the bacon one was more popular.

With quite a bit of bacon left, I decided I’ll make quiches for the family and my colleagues. And when I bake quiche, I always make two because it seems more practical. Sometimes, it’s also because I like the variety, and I can’t choose which filling to use.

Photobucket

Last week, I baked a quiche lorraine – with bacon and ham. It’s not the healthiest thing to have for breakfast, but a slice was enough to last me through a busy day at work till evening.

The other quiche I baked had caramelised onion, which I love. My mistake was deluding myself into thinking that I had the energy to cook after a long day of work.

Photobucket

Peeling and slicing ten onions were not too bad. It’s watching over the onions as they cooked slowly that was the chore – especially when I was trying to do 5 other things at the same time in different rooms.

I left the onions to wash my face, and take off my contact lens, and change, and gather dirty laundry… and of course the next thing I knew I was smelling burning onions.

Even with the lowest heat, you have to stir the onions once in a awhile (between one other task, not five), or they’ll burn and turn charred black.

At some other time, I’d have thrown the whole batch away and start over. But the thought of peeling and slicing ten onions was enough push for me to slowly pick out the charred bits, and give up on going to bed asap and watch over my onions.

So, finally after about 35 minutes or so, the onions were nicely caramelised, with a sweet aroma. Despite all my griping, caramalised onion is one of the easiest thing to cook, and it’s actually amazing how sweet they become. Some recipes call for sugar in their ingredient list, but I never add any.

Caramelised onion quiche is delicious, and a refreshing change from the usual fillings. I also always have onions in the kitchen, so it’s one of those dishes I can make whenever I feel like it.

Photobucket

Please refer to the previous post for the quiche recipe.

For the filling for Quiche Lorraine, just slice eight bacon rashers, and fry them in a little oil. Layer them on the pastry case with 6-8 slices of ham (cubed). The custard is 2-3 eggs, and a small carton of cream. Sprinkle lots of cheese, and bake for 40minutes.

To make caramelised onion, peel and slice ten onions thinly. Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and fry the onions over low heat with 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and season with salt and black pepper. Stir occasionally until the onions turn brown and sticky-ish. You’ll know it’s just right from the sweet aroma; it usually takes between 30 and 40 minutes.

Put the filling in the pastry case, and pour the custard over, and sprinkle with cheese. Bake for 40 minutes.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “More Quiche (despite burnt onions)”

  1. Jason Says:

    I suggest that you bake one for me to eat when I come to KL for the year end trip. Deal? ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. babe_kl Says:

    thanks for dropping by my blog and i love to make quiche too hahaha… very easy peasy to impress ppl ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Xiaolu Says:

    This looks yummy! I love quiche and it’s one of the few dishes both my boyfriend and I love.

  4. Marty Says:

    I tasted the onion quiche and because the onions were so well caramelised, I actually thought there was meat in it… good way to fool the carnivores.

Leave a Reply

