Fried Rice – One Family, Three Variations

fried ri

I wanted to cook something easy for lunch as I didn’t want to spend my Sunday morning in the kitchen. Fried rice seems the easiest, especially since I had leftover rice. I usually cook fried rice for late dinners when we have to work late, and are too tired to stop somewhere for food.

Fried rice is usually a one-wok thing where you’d generally throw in whatever you have in the fridge, at least that’s how my grandma used to make it for us for lunch – and we’ll have fried rice with leftovers from dinner and that means finding anything from bits of soya sauce chicken to broccoli to tofu on our plate.

But since I only cook once a week, I try to make everyone happy and make them fried rice the way they like it. I wanted mine with ikan bilis and cili padi, and then decided that I wanted Chinese sausage too. My hubby likes his with (lots of) luncheon meat, and my daughter will not have anything green but loves fried egg.

Photobucket

And I always use prawns in my fried rice – and these are prawns my mom bought, cleaned, shelled and froze for me to take home so that I’ll be able to cook fried rice anytime.

Photobucket

It’s also handy to have a bowl of the condiment mixture ready – basically it’s about 2 tbsp light soy sauce, 1 tsp white pepper, 1 tsp oyster sauce, and 1/2 tsp sugar. I don’t like my fried rice dark so I don’t use dark soy sauce, but you can add that too if you like.

fried rice

FRIED RICE

Recipe
(For one serving)
Ingredients

1 tbsp light soya sauce, or according to taste
1 tsp oyster sauce
1/2 tsp white pepper
1/2 tsp sugar, optional
2 tablespoons cooking oil
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 shallots, sliced
8-10 prawns, deskinned
2 cups of cooked rice
1 egg
2 stalks of spring onion, sliced

Mix the light soy sauce, oyster sauce, white pepper and sugar in a bowl, and set aside
Heat the cooking pil over medium heat, and saute the garlic and shallots until fragrant. Add the prawns, and fry for a minute.
Increase the heat, then add the rice, and mix everything together
Push the rice aside, and break the egg into the wok
Season the egg with a teaspoon of the sauce mixture
Before the egg sets, ladle the rice over it and stir evenly so that the rice is nicely coated with the eggs.
Season with the sauce mixture, and stir over high heat.
Add the spring onion, just before you take the rice out.

Variations

You can add luncheon meat or sausage when you add the prawns. Don’t use so much oil as there is also fat from the luncheon meat.
Bacon is especially good with fried rice.

or

Add cili padi and ikan bilis for a spicy version that is tempered with the saltiness of crunchy fried ikan bilis

or

Do the Chinese version – use sesame oil and add Chinese sausage. I like to substitute the soya sauce with salt for this dish.

And it’s always nice to have keropok with fried rice – and these are delicious keropok from Terengganu. Half the keropok is gone before I even started frying the rice.

keropok

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Fried Rice – One Family, Three Variations”

  1. Jason Says:

    I like mine with loads of onions, garlic, spring onion, chicken/pork, luncheon meat, Chinese sausages and eggs. 😀

  2. Michael Beyer Says:

    Sounds delicious. Try out my similar Wisconsin-style fried rice:

    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/04/02/michaels-wisconsin-style-fried-rice/

Leave a Reply

