Fried Chicken Wings

Cakes and desserts don’t tempt me all that much; my weakness is fried chicken. I love fried chicken in its many forms; battered, spicy, with tumeric, garlicky….

But I have also had my share of terrible fried chicken, when’s it’s fried till it’s all dried out or in oil that has been used over and over again, or if the chicken is coated in a thick layer of tasteless batter. I also dislike the hot and spicy KFC, and soggy fried chicken.

My favourite fried chicken is my mom’s… yeah, surprise, surprise.
It’s a simple fried chicken, with no fancy batter or long list of ingredients. She marinates them simply in salt, sugar, white pepper and five spice powder.

After experimenting a few times, I realise that the secret is in marinating the chicken overnight. The chicken should also be cut in small pieces. My mom gets the chicken seller in the market to debone the chicken wings, which makes wolfing them out very easy. But I buy my chicken from the supermarket, and I can’t even get the workers to de-skin the chicken.

I made these for Sunday brunch; completely indulgent to have half a dozen of fried chicken wings but who cares…

porridge_0958

Recipe

Fried Chicken Wings

8 chicken wings, halved at the joint
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of white pepper
1 tablespoon of sugar
1 teaspoon of five spice powder
2 cups of cooking oil

Marinate chicken in the seasoning overnight.
Heat the cooking oil over medium heat.
When it’s hot (not smoking hot, but hot enough that there will be bubbles when you drop in the chicken), put in the chicken.
Fry till golden brown and aromatic.

2 Responses to “Fried Chicken Wings”

  1. Marty Says:

    “…I buy my chicken from the supermarket, and I can’t even get the workers to de-skin the chicken.”

    Aren’t chicken wings primarily skin and bones (and that’s why they’re so tasty)? With the skin off, all the flavour goes as well, no? Sorry, simply being pedantic 😉

Leave a Reply

