Oven Dried Tomatoes

I love sundried tomatoes, but they always seemed like such luxury, at prices ranging between RM15-25/100g. And it’s no fun eating something carefully because they are precious.

It was only when I read an old issue of Flavours that I found out that it’s actually not impossible to make sundried tomatoes at home. The traditional method involves sunning the tomatoes for days, which is out of the question. I can just see birds and insects all over the tomatoes, and I am certainly not standing around to watch tomatoes dry in the front yard.

Anyway, it turns out that you can make oven-dried tomatoes instead. Just have the patience to leave the tomatoes to dry slowly for several hours in a slow oven. It’s ready when the house is filled with the aroma of roasted tomatoes. I think I love the smell even more than the taste of oven-dried tomatoes.

tomatoes

Buy a whole load of tomatoes. Quarter and deseed them. Lay them on a baking tray and sprinkle some salt, black pepper and herbs on them. Drizzle with some olive oil.

Then, leave them in the oven at 100C for 6-8 hours, checking on them from time to time.

20090725_0342

They don’t look so pretty after all that roasting, but they sure taste great. They taste even better than fresh tomatoes because the flavours become intense and concentrated. These slow roasted tomatoes perks up salads, sandwiches, pasta and whatever else. I use them in quiche and ratatouille. But I actually also like to pop them in my mouth like they are prunes.

20090726_0348
If you make these with cherry tomatoes, you don’t have to roast them for so long. They taste even better, like tomato raisins but much much more interesting.
Keep them in a jar covered with oil in the refrigerator and they will keep for weeks.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Oven Dried Tomatoes”

  1. Tribute to Gourmet Magazine « Hungryc's Blog Says:

    […] chicken liver mousse, and we have been having it with bread and crackers. I like to add a piece of sun-dried tomato to my bread and chicken liver mousse […]

  2. JC Says:

    I love sun-dried tomatoes in my sandwich. But like you said, they are too expensive to have frequently. So your recipe comes handy! Can I know what herbs did you add for your oven-roasted tomatoes? I would love to try this recipe out.

    • Hungry Caterpillar Says:

      It’s surprisingly easy to make. I am sometimes impatient, and try to take shortcuts like turning up the temperature but it doesn’t work. Just leave the tomatoes in your oven on the lowest temperature in the morning, and ignore it for several hours. The oil that you store the tomatoes in is also really aromatic, and great for making pasta and salad

  3. Sundried Tomato, Olives and Caper Paste « The Hungry Caterpillar Says:

    […] tomatoes are pricey in Malaysia, but it’s easy to make them. Check out my post on making oven-dried tomatoes in a slow slow […]

  4. suitlee Says:

    Thank for your info on how to make sun dried tomatoes. Will try my hand on making some soon.

Leave a Reply

