Solo Mango

mango kerabu2

Everyone else’s tree branches are weighed down with clusters of mangoes in my neighbourhood, but I could only count three fruits on my tree. One was stolen; the other is too high up for me to reach and so there was only one left. Being kiasu, I plucked it last Sunday before someone else got to it.
It was not fully ripe yet, so I left it on the kitchen counter. I think I am supposed to leave it in the rice bin to ripen, but I never got around to doing that.
While cleaning out the fridge, I found calamansi limes and cili padi that were fast turning yellow and black.
So, I decided to make mango kerabu, with my precious mango and wilting limes, chillies and coriander leaves. My mum makes hers with some bunga kantan and dried shrimps too.
The mango turned out to be perfect for the kerabu – it was not too sweet with a nice sourish edge.
I finished the mango kerabu, all on my own!

MANGO KERABU

RECIPE

2 shallots. sliced thinly
2 bird’s eyes chilli, sliced
2 stalks coriander leaf, chopped coarsely
I mango, peeled and sliced in matchsticks

Dressing

Juice from 5 calamansi lime
1 tablespoon of sugar
1 tablespoon of fish sauce

Leave the shallots and birds eye chilli in the dressing for about 10 minutes.
Then, add the mango and coriander leaf.
Toss to mix evenly.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Solo Mango”

  1. Steamed Squid – Thai-style « The Hungry Caterpillar Says:

    […] Kerabu Mango Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Loving The Humble Bean PasteSteamed Meat in SquidMenu Plan 2/1-7/2010Menu Plan ~ May 31, 2009 […]

Leave a Reply

