Tomato Salsa

IMG_1637

(In what seems like another lifetime ago, I actually had the time to sew – quilts and patchwork and the cushion cover above.)

It’s World Cup month, and it doesn’t matter if I know nuts about football and the names I recognise are mostly out of the tournament. Every four years, I follow football avidly – reading the reports first thing in the morning. With twitter updates this World Cup, I expect football to be even more exciting this time around.

I’ll confess that I don’t watch all that many matches, especially when they are played in the wee hours of the morning except for the semi finals and finals.
This World Cup, at least the matches will be played at reasonable hours – at 7.30pm and 10.30pm.

I am not much of a snacker, or muncher. But I do love salsa, especially with corn chips. Yeah, I have corn chips because of the salsa, and not make salsa to go with corn chips…go figure.

IMG_1622

There is 1001 recipes for salsa, but mine is real simple. I like the tomato-onion-coriander combination, with lemon juice. I also almost add green chillies, and sometimes a few chilli padi. You can make loads of this and leave them in the fridge.

I am also making this salsa this World Cup because it’s held in South Africa. One of the meals I had often in South Africa while on assignment there years ago was pap (maize meal) with this tomato relish. I had loads of it; it’s one of South Africans’ staple food.

TOMATO SALSA

RECIPE

salsa-montage

Ingredients
(enough for 1 packet of corn chips)

3-4 tomatoes, deseeded and cubed
1 onion, diced
2-3 stalks of coriander, chopped
1-2 green chillies, chopped
Juice from 1 lemon
salt and sugar, to taste

Mix all the ingredients together.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Tomato Salsa”

  1. petite nyonya Says:

    Tomato salsa on corn chips and topped with sour cream is a yummy yummy snack! Once I start, I cannot stop.

  2. Steamed Squid – Thai-style « The Hungry Caterpillar Says:

    [...] of course I heap on the coriander – lots and lots of it. And after dinner, I made a bowl of tomato salsa and heap on loads and loads of coriander – cos I am obsessive, but just a little obsessive, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

