Sundried Tomato, Olives and Caper Paste

The Italian Cookery Course by Katie Caldesi is my current favourite cookbook. I do not only enjoy reading it, and learning loads about Italian cooking, but I was actually inspired to try out the recipes. Check out the review on kuali.com.

I made this simple paste because I love all the ingredients – sundried tomatoes, olives and capers. I had just made a batch of oven-dried tomatoes for Veggie Chick and Marty Thyme’s Crazy Juliet sandwiches, and so I shamelessly asked back 200g from them. It turned out I only have olives with pits, so I ate half the bottle up instead of pitting them….yums.

Anyway, it was easy enough to run down to the supermarket to buy a bottle of pitted olives, except that I also bought eight other items.

Anyway, I just blitzed everything in the blender, and it was all done. I ate it plain on baguette,  and also had it with spaghetti, prawns, cherry tomatoes and fresh basil leaves.

Sun-dried tomatoes are pricey in Malaysia, but it’s easy to make them. Check out my post on making oven-dried tomatoes in a slow slow oven.

RECIPE

Sundried Tomato, Caper and Olive Paste

100g sun-dried tomatoes

100g good-quality olives, pitted

100ml extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon of capers, rinsed

1/2 dried or fresh red chilli, chopped

a good pinch of salt

Whizz all the ingredients in a food processor, and adjust the seasoning to taste.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Sundried Tomato, Olives and Caper Paste”

  1. Forage Says:

    looks and sounds delicious! hello from cape town.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

