Lazy Days – Mushroom Soup

mushrooms3

By right, I should make a list every time I go grocery shopping. Instead, I walk down every aisle in the supermarket, and pick up 25 things I think I might need, like a can of chickpeas or coriander seeds. Then, they languish  in the larder, forgotten.

But then again, I always have the best of intentions. I buy chickpeas thinking that I’ll be making hummus and coriander seeds to make kurma.

Two weekends ago, I was at Bangsar Village Grocer and I bought a big container of mixed mushrooms (white mushrooms, brown mushrooms and oyster mushroom). I haven’t bought mushrooms in awhile, and could think of half a dozen recipes I could try out.

But two weeks later, those mushrooms were still sitting pretty in the fridge -but certainly not for much longer. They cost too much for me to continue ignoring them, so I took them out of the fridge. I didn’t know what I wanted to do, but I thought I should start doing something anyway. So, I cleaned them, and cut them up, and waited for inspiration to hit me.

mushroom

I ended up cooking a quick bacon and mushroom cream sauce spaghetti with chilli padi, but there was still lots of mushrooms left. I stuck them back into the fridge. It was just one of those days when I couldn’t face up to a sinkful of dishes.

The next day, I took out those mushrooms, and contemplated making a mushroom and bacon quiche; but only for two seconds. I ended up making the easiest thing I could think of – soup.

soup5

When it comes to making soup, I don’t follow a recipe.

I sauteed two cloves of garlic in two tablespoons of olive oil, threw in the sliced mushrooms and stir them around for a few minutes till they are soft and aromatic. Then, I pour in the cream, and some milk – enough to cover the mushrooms.

I then blitz the soup with a hand blender, and season with salt and pepper. If you think that the soup is too thick, add milk. If you think it’s too thin, boil the soup a little longer over a slow flame to reduce it, or add more cream.

The best thing about this mushroom soup is that it’s also easy to eat. I just cut up some baguette slices, and dunk them into the soup. Makes for a nice breakfast on weekdays, and tastes so much better than canned soup.

Tags:

7 Responses to “Lazy Days – Mushroom Soup”

  1. terri Says:

    love mroom soup. reminds me i have expiring porcini mrooms. i love ur photos. what camera??

  2. petite nyonya Says:

    By the look of it, I can tell that it’s definitely better than the superficial canned version. So happy I found Village Grocer last week!

  3. kat Says:

    I walk down every aisle in the supermarket, and pick up 25 things I think I might need… hahaha.. I thought I was the only one who does this!! :D I read blogs like yours and then go the the supermarket, see certain items and go, ‘Oh, so-and-so made this. Maybe I should try the recipe too since ingredient X is available today..’ and the said item ends up lying around for a long time..

    • Hungry Caterpillar Says:

      The irony is that sometimes I am all tired out from grocery shopping (battling traffic and queueing at the cashier’s) and lugging the 25 thgs I don’t need that I am too tired to cook after I get home…LOL

  4. Dimah Says:

    Your soup looks absolutely delicious!

  5. melaniemusings2 Says:

    I love cream of mushroom soup–this looks great and easy. I love your blog-photos and recipes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

