Elephant Ears – Palmiers

Photobucket

I love puff pastry, but I doubt I’d ever get around to making them – all that folding and referigerating, and folding and refrigerating…. definitely too much work.

I love store-bought ready-rolled out frozen puff pastry sheets. It’s a staple in my freezer, and I usually stock up whenever I am in supermarkets that stock them (Cold Storage, Bangsar Village, certain Carrefour and Giant outlets).

Pretty much anything you wrapped in pastry puff, or put atop a puff pastry sheet – and then bake – come out delicious. You can make savoury or sweet dessert with puff pastry, like palmiers.

I first came across the recipe for palmiers in Lily’s Wai Sek Hong, and in Joy The Baker.

This is definitely one of the easiest recipes to make, but I tried it mostly because I like its name – elephant ears and even pig ears.

Photobucket

There is not much of a recipe for this one… 2 ingredients – puff pastry sheets and sugar.

Just sprinkle your work surface with sugar, then lay the pastry sheet on it. Sprinkle some more sugar on the pastry sheet. Roll the sheet up, from both ends; meeting in the middle. Refrigerate for about half an hour, or longer if you have the time (and patience). Slice the roll in 1/2 inch pieces, and bake in a preheated oven at 200C for 10-12 minutes. You can add 1 tsp of ground cinnamon for more aromatic palmiers, or not…

Just be more bold than me… sprinkle loads of sugar…I like my palmiers but I suspect it should have been much sweeter…. so don’t stinge on the sugar.

It’s a breeze to make, easier than cookies… and prettier too. Goes well with coffee or martini n 7-Up with lotsa ice (best remedy to stem the madness creeping up as you find that beloved child smeared in paint smearing the walls and furniture, and then paints her palms (jeng, jeng, jeng…)…..nurturing artisitic instincts is more important than my loathing of housework, I know!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Elephant Ears – Palmiers”

  1. vivien Says:

    hey

    your photos getting pretty good – but knife in one hand and camera in the other??

  2. Memoria Says:

    Lovely palmiers!! I’ve been wanting to make some.

  3. Carsten Says:

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. I really feel hungry!

    Cheers,

    Carsten
    tasteandshare.com
    food social network * wine social network

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

