Cubed Roasted Potatoes – Jamie-style

Photobucket

I like potatoes – after rice, they are my favourite comfort food.
Once a friend confessed on Facebook that she made and ate mashed potatoes at 4am, and I could so totally relate to that.

It doesn’t really matter what you do to potatoes, they almost always turn out nice. Still, everyone has their favourite potatoes. My daughter’s favourite is surprisingly not MacDonald’s french fries, but potatoes in curry chicken.

My favourite is roasted potatoes, and I found a variation I really like last weekend in Jamie Oliver’s Cook With Jamie.

The thing that Jamie did differently was to cube the potatoes.
So, instead of halving the potatoes, I cube them into medium chunks (about 2 inches). They cook faster, and crisp better. And because they are smaller pieces, they are easier to eat too. It’s also nice to leave the skin on, but scrub them first.

Potato

RECIPE

ROSEMARY-ROASTED CUBED POTATOES
(from Cook With Jamie by Jamie Oliver)

Serves 4

Ingredients

600g waxy potatoes, peeled or scrubbed and cut into 1 in cubes
Sea salt and ground black pepper
A sprig of fresh rosemary (I use dried one, but the herbs make a difference)
Olive oil, or duck or goose fat
5 cloves of garlic, skin on and smashed

Preheat oven to 220C/425F. Place your potatoes in a large pan of cold, salted water and bring to a boil. Drain them immediately in a colander, and allow them to steam for a couple of minutes until they dry our a bit. Bash up the rosemary leaves.

Heat some olive oil or duck/goose fat in a roasting tray. Add the garlic cloves, potatoes and rosemary. Season and toss together until well coated. Place in the oven for about 20-25 minutes, shaking the tray every so often, until the potatoes are golden and crispy.

NOTE: Jamie’s recipe is fool-proof for sure, but I didn’t follow all his instructions….I didn’t heat the oil and only shook the tray twice, partly because I am clumsy and have enough burn marks on my hands.
Still, the potatoes came out absolutely delicious.

Jamie suggests adding some chunky fatty bacon lardons to the tray, and I think that’s what I’ll try next.

The next potato recipe I want to try is Golden Potatoes with Brown Butter Crumbs with capers from Gourmet April 2009. This should be even better…

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Cubed Roasted Potatoes – Jamie-style”

  1. boo_licious Says:

    They’re also my comfort food – roast potatoes. Thxs for the recipe, Jamie always works for me.

  2. Jason Says:

    One who doesn’t like potatoes ought to be shot dead. Haha!

    You should try potato zerra at Pak Putra (Niki’s uncle’s place). It’s awesome. :D

  3. Ming Suan Says:

    Eh you mean just let the water boil then take out immediately?? I love potatoes of any kind but am trying not to have too much of them. Fat lah.

  4. Hungry Caterpillar Says:

    I usually leave them for another ten minutes. The potatoes should be cooked, but not gone so soft that it’ll crumble. Because these are cubed, they cook faster, but it also depends on what kind of potatoes you use.

  5. Sam Graham Says:

    I made these potatoes last night and they turned out delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

